Seven stages to wisdom

In his book On Christian Teaching, St. Augustine outlines seven steps to wisdom, based on Isaiah 11.2-3. They are:

1. Fear of God.

2. Holiness; not contradicting Holy Scripture.

3. Knowledge.

4. Fortitude.

5. The resolve of compassion.

6. Purify the eye by which God may be seen.

7. Ascent to wisdom.

“These are the stages by which we progress from the one to the other.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.